Board of Directors

Susan Nelson, BA, MA, Chairman of the TechVivo Board

Susan is currently the CEO of OpenGate Properties Inc., visionary and developer of the 5 Bottom Line LEED-ND WORK-LIVE town - TwinHills CyberCity. Known as a change agent and collaborative promoter of the best in Alberta, Susan has built many successful companies while concurrently bringing about betterment for those small to large businesses aligned with her initiatives. She has served on both regulatory boards, such as the Alberta Natural Resources Conservation Board to non-profit boards such as Habitat for Humanity and other national and provincial industry and special interest boards.

Recognition: Calgary Successful Woman (Federal Business Development Bank)

Wayne Chodzicki, FCA ICD.D, Treasurer of the TechVivo Board

Wayne is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants (FCA) and holds his designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD.D). Wayne recently was KPMG’s Global Head of Oil & Gas and of KPMG’s Global Energy Institutes and held many high profile board positions, including the Chair of the Energy Council of Canada 2012-13 (currently Past-Chair and member of the Executive Committee), Chair Heritage Park Society 2009-11 (currently member of the Heritage Park Foundation). Wayne is currently the Vice President of ACCEL Energy Canada Ltd., a leading natural resources company.

Recognition: KPMG’s CEO Community Excellence Award 2006, 2010

Michael Whitt QC

Michael is a partner and a leader of the National Information Technology practice at Bennett Jones LLP. He is a member of the board of directors of Calgary Technologies Inc. and provides valuable expertise to TechVivo from both the technology industry and legal perspectives. Michael is also a Fellow of the Intellectual Property Institute of Canada and a Director of ITAC Health. His practice focuses on Information Technology, Intellectual Property, the innovation sector and data stewardship and governance.

Recognition: Best Lawyers in Canada 2006 through 2014

Ron Murch, B.Math., MBA, I.S.P., ITCP, Secretary for the TechVivo Board

Ron is a Senior Instructor Emeritus at the Haskayne School of Business, MIS department. Ron’s 40 years of experience working with computer-supported information system within educational institutions, oil and gas firms and the civic government are invaluable in achieving a collaborative tech information directory and broker of small entrepreneurial tech innovators to large tech corporate entities. Ron also has extensive experience in small business consulting and executive education for leadership development as well as management of technology and innovation. Ron has taught extensively in the Haskayne undergraduate, MBA and Executive MBA programs - primarily in courses focussed on the management of technology and innovation. He continues to be active with the CIO Association of Canada, Calgary Chapter and serves as an external reviewer with Alberta Innovates.

Recognition: Dean’s Award for Outstanding Leadership in Teaching and Learning (2008), Teaching Excellence Award, University of Calgary Students' Union (2008)

Mike Shaw, PEng

Michael (Mike) is currently Vice President, Shared Services, ATCO.  Employed with ATCO for 15 years, Mike has experience in various leadership roles within the utility sector, most recently overseeing all aspects of ATCO’s gas distribution system in Calgary and surrounding area helping businesses thrive through access to safe, reliable and affordable energy.

Mike holds a BSc in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Calgary.  He is a member of APEGA and currently serves on the Board of the Calgary Chamber, as well as the Board of Drake Landing Company, which owns and operates the energy system for the Drake Landing Solar Community in Okotoks, Alberta.

Dieter Megert, BSc Computer Science

Dieter’s role with Convergint Technologies, as Business Development Manager, reinforces his highly adept global scope of technologically advanced Smart Building applications and interconnections. Dieter has a recognized passion for creating technology innovative solutions in his 20 years previous experience with Siemens. Dieter is attuned and familiar with the best ever-changing Tech practices, trends and market place applications.

Geoff Zakaib, PEng, MBA

Geoff is the President of Zakaib Strategies Inc. - a management consulting firm based in Calgary. He specializes in the areas of business technology and information management. Geoff has a strong interest in data and is involved in a number of initiatives that span the public, private and social sectors. He is a Director of Data for Good and the organizer of the Calgary chapter. He co-founded CivicTechYYC and has helped to build the civic tech ecosystem across Canada. Geoff is active in the Open Data / Open Government movements as the Executive Director of Open Calgary. He was previously a community member of the City of Calgary e-Government Strategy Advisory Committee and the External Advisory Committee of Civic Innovation YYC.

Geoff is passionate about the use of data and technology for social good. The initiatives that he has started provide opportunities for members of the community to volunteer their technical skills to help nonprofit / social organizations that are doing amazing work in our city. These organizations make significant contributions to the quality of life for everyone, but they often lack the time, resources and skills to make effective use of data and technology in their programs and services. In Calgary we can leverage our smart, energetic tech sector to make a real difference in our community.

Ron Woodward (Past TechVivo Chairman) & Current TechVivo Member

Ron is currently the Board Chair of the Board of the Canadian Environmental Technology Advancement Corporation (CETAC West) and president of Clockbuilder Consulting Ltd. He has more than 40 years of experience in education, government and industry. Ron is also the past Chair of Alberta Council on Admissions and Transfer, President/CEO of the Saskatchewan Research Council and Assistant Deputy Minister for Science and Technology in BC.

Recognition: Alberta Centennial Medal (2005)